top of page

Dalhousie Students Take Prize in CPCI Student Design Competition

The top three teams will have the opportunity to work with a local precast concrete producer to fabricate and install their bench at the location of their choice.

The Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (CPCI) launched the Precast Concrete Wellness Bench Competition for Architectural and Engineering students in October 2021 to all Canadian Universities. Students were invited to submit their projects highlighting the opportunities that precast concrete offers in terms of construction, safety, structural strength, design innovation, social value, maintenance and durability. This year’s theme was on wellness and students had to design a bench using precast concrete while carefully considering the various dimensions of this theme along with the technical understanding of precast concrete systems.

“The jury was impressed with the quality, creativity and ingenuity of all submissions this year and we want to congratulate all of the teams for their hard work and eagerness to learn more about precast concrete as a durable, sustainable, resilient and efficient building material,” says Ariane Sabourin, CPCI’s Communications Manager. The first prize team received $2500 Canadian.